Managing standard and admin users

The most common users are standard and admin users.

Creating a new admin user account

When a new person joins your team, either as an employee or contractor, and you want them to be able to sign in with full admin rights, you will need to create an admin level account for them. You may consider implementing user roles to help restrict which sections of the admin panel your staff can access.

To create an admin, first you must add the person as a contact, and then grant them admin access. When you create a contact for a new admin user, make sure the welcome email option is set to yes.

How do I add an admin user to my location?

First, create a contact (make sure the welcome email message is turned on so this contact also has a user account). Then you can give that contact admin access, which grants them full unrestricted administrator access to your location.

You can also create user roles if you do not want to grant all of your staff members full administrator rights.

How can I set a User as an Administrator?

Go to the User's profile via Settings > Users and security. Then, enable the Full unrestricted administrator option in this section and click on Save to complete the process.‌

Granting admin rights to an existing user

  1. If the side menu is not visible, click .

  2. In the side menu, click Settings.

  3. Click the name of the person that you want to make an admin.

  4. In the Access section, select the Full Unrestricted Administrator checkbox.

    Optional: You can also grant the user API access by selecting the checkbox below.

  5. Complete the Locations, User roles and Devices sections. Note: In addition to full administrators, you can create user roles to grant access rights to certain sections of the admin panel.

  6. In the Notifications section, activate the notification types that you want the user to receive.

  7. In the Status section, click Save changes.

Granting admin access to to a user

How do I grant an admin access to multiple locations?

  1. If the side menu is not visible, click .

  2. In the side menu, click Settings.

  3. Click the name of the person that you want to make an admin.

  4. In the Access section, select all the relevant locations.

  5. In the Status section, click Save changes.

Granting an admin access to multiple locations

Setting up a user account for a member or contact

User accounts are automatically created for new members and contacts when they sign up, so you will not usually have to manually set up accounts for them. However, if the user account has been removed or deactivated, or if the member or contact was added within the dashboard, you may want to add or activate a user account for a member or contact.

Creating a user account

Creating a user account for a customer
  1. If the side menu is not visible, click .

  2. In the side menu, click Operations.

  3. Click Members and contacts.

  4. In the Filter by section, make sure it is set to Members or Contacts as appropriate.

  5. Do one of the following:

    • Move your pointer to the left of the relevant member or contact and select the check-box that is displayed. A pop-out menu is displayed.

    • At the end of the relevant member or contact, click . A pop-out menu is displayed.

  6. On either pop-out menu, click Create User Account.

Resetting the password on a user account

  1. If the side menu is not visible, click .

  2. In the side menu, click Settings.

  3. Click the user account that you want to edit.

  4. Do one of the following:

    • Click generate password, and the system will create a new password for this user account.

    • Manually enter the desired password, it must be at least 6 characters, and contain at least 1 each of the following:

      • Upper case letter

      • Lower case letter

      • Number

  5. Optional: Click yes to require this user to change their password the next time they login.

  6. Click Save.

Changing a user's password

Deleting a user account

  1. If the side menu is not visible, click .

  2. In the side menu, click Settings.

  3. Click the user account that you want to delete.

  4. Do one of the following:

    • Move your pointer to the left of the relevant user account and select the check-box that is displayed. A pop-out menu is displayed.

    • At the end of the relevant user account, click . A pop-out menu is displayed.

  5. On either pop-out menu, click Delete.

  6. Click Yes.